Apr 03, 2024

Four Huskers Swimmers selected to Academic All-District Team

Posted Apr 03, 2024 1:30 PM

Story by NU Athletic Communications

Four members of Nebraska's swimming and diving program were selected to the College Sports Communicators (CSC) Academic All-District Team.

Gena Jorgenson, JoJo Randby, Lexi Kucera and Emily Haimes were announced to the list on Tuesday. The 2024 Academic All-District Women’s Swimming and Diving Teams, selected by College Sports Communicators, recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances in the pool and in the classroom.

Jorgenson has school records in the 400 IM, 500 freestyle, 1000 freestyle, 1650 freestyle, 800m freestyle and 1500 freestyle. The sophomore from Aberdeen, S.D. is coming off her second NCAA Championship appearance, where she became the first Husker swimmer to be named a First-Team All-American since 2006. Jorgenson was named a First-Team CSCAA Scholar All-American last season as a freshman.

Randby owns the 100 breaststroke school record, has the 10th-best 200 breaststroke time in school history and is a member of four relays on the all-time list. A junior from Omaha, Neb., she has 18 individual top-five finishes this season. Academically, Randby was named to the 2023 CSC Academic All-District team, a two-time second-team CSCAA Scholar All-American and a 2023 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.

Kucera is listed on Nebraska's all-time page nine times, including being No. 10 in the 50 freestyle, No. 7 in the 100 freestyle, No. 8 in the 100 butterfly, No. 5 in the 200 medley relay, No. 2 and 5 in the 400 medley relay, No. 4 in the 400 freestyle relay and No. 3 and 5 in the 800 freestyle relay. From Hutchinson, Minn., Kucera was named to the 2023 CSC Academic All-District Team, named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and an Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Haimes has contributed to four Husker relays on the all-time list, including the second-fastest 200 medley relay in school history. The senior from Enfield, London, England was named to the 2023 CSC Academic All-District team and a Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar. She adds a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honor and Academic All-Big Ten honor.